Improve wording for "Delete this budget" button and confirmation dialog
complete
Din from Lunch Money
On the Settings page, the "Delete this budget" button can be a little ambiguous with the word "Budget". It would be good to change the button to read “Delete this entire budget account” or “Permanently delete budget account data.”
The copy in the confirmation dialog should also be improved to clearly state that the action deletes all associated data of the budget account, including accounts (bank/credit card), transactions, categories, tags, recurring items, and historical balances.
Photo Viewer
View photos in a modal
Log In
Din from Lunch Money
updated the status to
complete
This has been addressed in release #278. We've updated the budget account reset and deletion flows on the Settings page for a clearer and more intuitive experience.
Thanks for reporting and voting on this!
B
Ben Bryant
Thanks Din for starting this thread. When I pressed the nuclear button I had absolutely no understanding whatsoever that all my accounts, categories, transactions, sync instructions, tags, every speck of data would be deleted.
I understood "Delete this Budget" to mean "delete budget allocations, rollover rules, and historical comparisons of actual expenditures to budgeted amounts".
Lunch Money apparently uses the word "budget" in this instance to refer to my entire Lunch Money user account.
Changing the LABEL of the button is an excellent idea. I suggest labeling it "The Nuclear Option: deletes EVERYTHING. Deletes ALL financial accounts, transactions, categories, etc". Having the button only available from the Lunch Money Account/profile menu (rather than the Budget pages) may also prevent misunderstandings.
The term "budget account" doesn't mean anything to me, as my expenses are paid across multiple "accounts" (bank, credit card, cash) and the "budget" in my mind is entirely hypothetical: user-input allocations and rules about what rolls over and such, but not an "account" with real data, i.e.
something that actually happened
as opposed to a user tool to aid in analysis.
In fact, I wondered if the button should exist at all. Do users actually need this capacity at all often? If I truly wanted to start from scratch, I would assume I needed to cancel my lunch money account and re-register. And at that point, you could drive home the irreversible nature of that decision with a warning like the one below.
If it's cost-effective and an oft-requested feature, you might offer "reset all budget allocations and rollovers to the system default" -- which would leave the vast majority of data intact and unchanged. I CAN imagine users wanting to do that, particularly if they confused themselves with overly complicated rollover rules (that was my issue.)
Just my two cents. You all do such excellent work and are so responsive, I hate to have created unnecessary work for you. I hope others' misunderstandings are infrequent.
Din from Lunch Money
Hi Ben Bryant!
Happy to share that we've updated the flow for both the "Start Fresh" and "Delete this budget" options. These options only exist on the Settings page, and hopefully the updated wording and context about what gets deleted will be helpful!
For the option to clear and start fresh on the Budget page, I went ahead and created a new feature request ticket that you can upvote here: https://feedback.lunchmoney.app/budget/p/button-to-reset-all-budget-allocations-presets-and-rollovers
Thanks for sharing your feedback on this! :)